The provisional agreement stipulates that EU citizens and UK nationals arriving in the host state during the transition period (March 30, 2019 – December 31, 2020) will enjoy broadly the same rights and obligations under the provisional agreement as those who arrived in the host state before March 30, 2019.

The provisional agreement does not prevent the UK or Member States from deciding to grant more generous rights.

We expect more clarifications on the subject by the end of this year, since the Member States, the European Parliament and the British Parliament need to approve the provisional agreement.